Traffic Counters not updated in Net-Traffic

I’ve been using IPFire for a couple of months and so far it’s worked quite OK.

One of the main issues that I have not been able to figure out how to work around has been that the traffic counters don’t get updated on the Status -> Net-Traffic page.

The other pages that show the graphs for the interfaces are updated however the ones on the Net-Traffic page only have a few dates of data (I assume when the device was rebooted) and most are at zero:

Is there a script or a setting that can be executed/modified that can help with diagnosing this?

Thanks,
Deyan

The process collectd is responsible for collecting data and then providing graphs.
So, is collectd running on your system? example:

root 2136 1 0 Mar02 ? 00:07:44 /usr/sbin/collectd -C /etc/collectd.conf

Yes, the process is running, however I have not restarted it, yet it has only been running since 20 minutes past midnight (it’s 9pm now here):

ps -ef|grep collectd
root 12529 1 0 00:20 ? 00:01:05 /usr/sbin/collectd -C /etc/collectd.conf

Actually I saw that the root cron restarts it at random time between 11pm and 3am so this is not an issue.

What I see is similar to what is described here:

However in my case there is data for Nov 29 and Nov 30, 2019 and nothing since then.

All of the other statistics are there and I can see the graphs for the individual interfaces (red0, green0, etc).

Just the summary page is not rendering correctly.

I had an open bug for this, but not working dns and firewall logs was more problematic.

https://bugzilla.ipfire.org/show_bug.cgi?id=12305

remove /var/log/vnstat/tag

Should solve this.

1 Like

Do I have to restart after that? That file was empty here. I can’t see it’s regenerated automatically. The others: blue0, green0, red0 aren’t empty, but they are outdated (09.03.2020, 17:16:11) all with the same time stamp.

Edit: after a few seconds the other files got updated but the filre “tag” is still missing.