New Install Can't Access Web interface

Hello All,
I’m new to IPfire not some much with linux in general. I can install IPfire without issue but I am unable to access the webinterface. I’ve tried doing it directly through the ethernet to a PC and through my router and I get nothing. Is there a way to access directly through the PC IPfire is installed on?

This is intentionally blocked. You need to work through the steps in:
web_interface
which should be accessible via:
https://{your IPFire green0 address}:444

To say it the other way.
IPFire doesn’t have a Graphical User Interface, but a Web User Interface.
The most direct interface to the OS is the console, implemented either as keyboard/monitor or serial connection ( depending on the HW ).
Console access is also possible using SSH; but this needs basic network functioning, like the WUI ( which depends on a functioning web server also ).

Hi @thelyon

If I understand you correctly you have installed IPFIre on a mchine and you have tried to access the WUI on a PC connected to the Green Ethernet interface.

You say you “get nothing” but there must have been some sort of error message. It would be helpful to know what that message was.

If you tried using the hostname for the URL, have you also tried using the IP address as suggested in the wiki section that @rodneyp provided a link to? Does that connect to the IPFire WUI or do you get the same error message as when using the hostname url?

1 Like

Yes I have tried the host name and IP address. All I get for an error message, if you can call it that, is a boiler plate can not connect page in my web browser. Both host name and IP get the same blank message.
I’ve tested the ethernet ports and both work under using linux mint live usb so I don’t believe it is a hardware issue. During the install IPfire sees them both so I don’t think it is a driver issue either.

Reinstall and try again?.. bad install maybe?