IPS vs Location Block vs Guardian vs firewall

I am a newbie and still trying to figure out how things work.

Which service gets the first picks to block unwanted traffic?

-IPS
-Location Block
-Guardian
-Firewall

For example I am trying to figure out some issues with a few devices, and keep looking in logs,

IPS log shows something interesting
I see an alert
ET CINS Active Threat Intelligence Poor Reputation IP group 18
** Priority: 2 Type: Misc Attack**

source is from CHINA and destination is my RED IP port 22.

Guardian protects the SSH port so
I assume Logs-System Logs-Guardian would pick it up, but the log is empty. Pretty much 0 events since I installed it. Only event is starting Guardian

Logs-Firewall logs, just shows a bunch of DROP_NEWNOTSYN from LAN IP’s
but nothing from China.

So IPS is doing all the work? I wonder if I stop IPS service, will Guardian Log get busy, or firewall Log?

Hi,

this depends on the type of unwanted traffic you observe. :slight_smile:

Guardian detects brute-force login attempts against IPFire’s SSH server and web interface. Since they should not be accessible from the internet - unless you configured them to be, which I strongly recommend against -, you will only see internal IP addresses attacking you firewall here.

(It is a good thing to monitor the list of IP addresses blocked by Guardian, since these could be compromised internal devices or internal attackers.)

The Location block does not really do anything in terms of security - it’s sole purpose is to reduce noise in the logs, which might be interesting if you are running on poor flash storage (such as cheap SD cards) and do not want to log every single firewall hit from certain countries. To have it mentioned, the Location block only works on incoming connections.