IPFIRE + Plex Server + TV

Goodnight,

I’m a newbie.

Is there any setting in IPFIRE that I can get my TV and Computer to communicate?

My setup:

You will need to open a ports for your Plex client
to reach your plex server.

3 Likes

How do I fill in the rule?

I’m really lost.

Quote from the link @hvacguy linked for you:

Step 2: NAT

As this is a NAT rule, check “Use Network Address Translation (NAT)” and select “Destination NAT (Port forwarding)”.

Don’t take this as sarcastic because it is not. Which part of that quote is not clear? There are no images but the description is quite detailed. If it needs to be rephrased, I will clarify it here and try to modify that text.

2 Likes

Let me try to explain conceptually what kind of problem you are facing. There are not enough IP numbers available in the world. This is at the root of your problem. If we were all using IPV6 instead of IPV4, all your machines in your local network will have a public IP and therefore the routing from anyone machine to anyone else in the world will be straightforward and way simpler.

As it is, we have not enough IP numbers, therefore the routing becomes complicated. Let’s see how this apply to your case. The TV, connected to the cable modem, wants to send IP traffic to the right computer inside your network so you can watch whatever the plex server would stream. The problem is, because the TV is located outside your local network, it doesn’t know how to reach your plex machine. It can only send packets to IPFire and delegate to it the job to address those packets to the final destination.