Cannot find .p12 file in Windows 11?

Hey guys!

I’m pretty new to IPFire as I’m getting an IT technician at the moment and my instructors don’t know how to work with IPFire and especially OpenVPN.
We installed IPFire on an APU (This is the one) and it works like a charm. Even the OpenVPN from outside works - on Linux and Android.
But here’s the thing: It does not work on Windows. I downloaded the .zip file with the .ovpn and the .p12 files in it and unpacked it.
With OpenVPN GUI, I imported the .ovpn file and installed the .p12 file directly into Windows by double clicking.
But when I want to connect to the network, I’m getting an error:

2023-01-20 15:48:54 WARNING: cannot stat file 'MA2.p12': Das System kann die angegebene Datei nicht finden.   (errno=2)
Options error: --pkcs12 fails with 'MA2.p12': No such file or directory (errno=2)
Options error: Please correct these errors.

In English it means that the system can’t find the specified file.
Do you have any ideas how I can solve this problem?

BR from Austria,
Michael

Which version of the client are you using?

I would just like to remind you that there are two editions/versions of the openvpn client available on openvpn.net .

1. the “official” version - OpenVPN Connect
  2. the Community Edition version

These editions, differ in the way they are configured.
Differences in configuration, have been a source of trouble, reported and explained on the IPFire forum.

Which version are you using?

edit

Below two helpful links:
https://community.openvpn.net/openvpn/wiki/OpenVPN-GUI-New

edit2
A while ago, I downloaded the Community version of OpenVPN-2.5.8-I604-amd64.msi and installed it on Windows 11.
It made a tunnel with the remote IPFire without any problem.
I was able to open the remote IPFire configuration page by entering the IP address of green0 without any problems.

3 Likes

Hi!