What upstream DNS server do you use?

I am new to IPfire , and after I read through a lot of discussions on this forum and wiki,
I realized that my favorite 9.9.9.9 upstream DNS server is on the Not recommended list including my backup 9.9.9.10 ,

I also experimented with OpenNIC servers DNS.watch
but I think the only one that seems to be working well AND is on the Recommended list, is the one on the top of the list: censurfridns.dk

I assumed the list is in Alphabetical order that’s why it is on top. :innocent:

For privacy, I have to add a few more Upstream DNS server. So that’s why I decided to start this post

I am kind of confused what makes a DNS provider not recommended . I think the case of Quad9 has been well discussed here but I looked up the policies of some of the recommended DNS providers.

I am not sure why Google DNS is “recommended” It is definitely filtering malicious IP’s
Cloudflare claims it doesn’t record IP’s and doesn’t filter malicious IP’s
Hurricane Electric is one of the largest ISP’s and I didn’t even find their Privacy Policy.
Alternate DNS even filters Ads
Verisign claims they do not filter malicious IP’s

In terms of recording IP’s, all of them record full or partial IP’s. Cloudflare’s way of describing it seems the most privacy oriented, if you can rely on that of course.

On the other side, FreeDNS is NOT recommended.
I couldn’t find out why, They do not describe any policy of filtering,
Their slogan is “No DNS redirects. No Logging.”
That’s all I was able to find out.

I see they added some servers, in case anyone is interested. Not sure if it is worth to add to the Wiki.
|172.104.237.57|(Frankfurt, Germany)|
|172.104.49.100|(Singapore)|
|37.235.1.174|(Vienna, Austria)|
|37.235.1.177|(Vienna, Austria)|
|45.33.97.5|(Atlanta, GA, USA)|

I use Quad9. I did lots of research on them and felt I could trust them.

In my opinion they belong on the recommended side of the list.

Hi,