Unbound - custom configuration

I usually customize the unbound configuration file. But it would be interesting to have it done on the web interface.

auth-zone:
    name: "."
    url: "https://www.internic.net/domain/root.zone"
    fallback-enabled: yes
    for-downstream: no
    for-upstream: yes
    zonefile: root.zone

As you said, you are customising it. By definition that cannot really be easily done on the web UI. Editing configuration files is not an option.

If you think that your change might be helpful to other people, why not try to upstream it?

I understand the difficulties. Yes, I will propose suggestions. I’m not a programmer. But with little knowledge, I will contribute.

Cache lifetime is reduced, ensuring security in queries. Option to speed up the cache response and prefetch.

cache-max-ttl: 21600
cache-min-ttl: 5

prefetch: yes
prefetch-key: yes
serve-expired: yes
serve-expired-ttl: 3600

Under no circumstances you want to serve expired responses or cache longer or shorter than the authoritative zone would.

2 Likes

on zones : https://www.internic.net/domain/root.zone

172800	IN	A
86400	IN	DS

cache-max-ttl: 172800
cache-min-ttl: 0

serve-expired-ttl: 172800

If I understood your knowledge, would that be the option?

Hi,

those parameters already are set in our current configuration:

As Michael pointed out already, it does not make sense to tamper with TTLs as the zone operators set them on purpose. Serving expired data can cause unexpected behaviour which is undebuggable in most cases.

Hyperlocal (fetching root zone and similar ones) makes sense to me, but we have some users sitting behind internet connections with extremley low bandwith and would need to make this configurable.

1 Like

I agree. Excellent explanation.

I noticed that ipfire’s unbound.conf omits options.

cache-max-ttl and cache-min-ttl and others.

For what reason?

I am trying to block cname ads using stub-zone.
I need the option

do-not-query-localhost: no