Second NIC does not show on RPi 3 Model B

Hello and thank you for your time. I am new with this sort of system, so please excuse me if a have not supplied the correct information - i don’t know what that would be.

I have installed IPfire on a raspberry Pi 3 Model B. The first time around everything worked ok, I could assign LAN to green and wifi to red. Then i tried to redo the setup as i had missed some things with the rest of the setup and now I only have one interface - the wired connection.

It does not appear to be a problem for others as I have not been able to find it elsewhere.
I am totally in the dark as how to solve it.

When i boot the Pi with Raspberry Pi OS, the WiFi works, but as soon as I start the IPFire, it will not recognize the wireless NIC.

I thought it was a driver issue, and so I tried this:

, but it did not make a difference.

If anybody has any ideas, it would be greatly appreciated :slight_smile: and if more information is needed (which i expect), I will gladly provide it, but do let me know how to get it :slight_smile:
Thank you

Sometimes there is a problem in the setup. If you want to reassign the nic’s remove all assignments and after this all nic’s should detected again.

1 Like

Thank you for your reply.
Should i finish the setup before it can detect them again?

I did try to remove the assignments, but i do not believe I have completed the setup with no assignments.
If I just removed the assignments without completing the setup, the other NIC did not reappear.

I will try if I can complete the setup without any NICs assigned and if that resolves the problem afterwards.
Again, thank you :slight_smile:

1 Like

Thank you for your suggestion @arne_f. I just tried removing any assignments, completing the setup, rebooting and check if the two NICs would show again. They did not, so I still only have the ethernet NIC available.

Any other inputs are very welcome too! :slight_smile: