OpenVPN - Max VPN Clients Quantity and Connections

Hello everyone,

I’m new at IPFIRE and i have some doubt’s about the OpenVPN limitations running on IPFIRE.

1.- What is the max openvpn users and clients that i can create on the firewall?.
2.- Max OpenVPN Connections in the same time with different userid?.
3.- Max OpenVPN Connections in the same time with the same userid?, for example “ebustos” with 2 ovpn clients in the same time.

Waiting for your early reply,

Best Regards

Enzo Bustos.
Telecom. & Networks Engineer.

Anyone help with this questions pls?.

Hello @ebustos - Welcome to the IPFire Community!

This maybe more of a question for the OpenVPN group. I am guessing this depends more on OpenVPN than IPFire. And it depends on the hardware chosen.

I wanted to let you know that all of the people that respond to IPFire Community posts are volunteers. So questions may take awhile for a response. (I am one of those volunteers.)

Hope that helps explain why immediate response is not available.

EDIT: here is some info about OpenVPN. It may not answer your questions but it might help get you started.
https://wiki.ipfire.org/configuration/services/openvpn

1 Like

Hello @jon
My question is regarding to the openVPN configuration in the advance config max-clients parameter. i reviewed the config by CLI and GUI. From the GUI i cannot configure more than 255 max-clients because the GUI cannot permit more than that value. On the other hand, on the /ipfire/ovpn directory the file “settings” there’s a max-clients value when i configured it to reach 400 max-clients then the GUI displays that value.

So, i have some doubts about the max-clients configuration that the GUI can permit to configure or if the software only permit 255 max-clients to OpenVPN can support…

Waiting for early replys.

Best regards.