Open ports to WAN

hi there,

thanks for your time :slight_smile:
I’m planning to move form landline to SIM based internet access. The problem is that I have few servers home so I need to open some ports

Before I even decide it is the right way to go I need to understand if the provider I’m intent to use leave port 80 and 443 open.

For this reason I created a DDNS entry and now I need to create a iptable/firewall rule. I’m new to ipfire. In the “New rule” section I can’t realize how to open port from RED to the ipfire machine.

Can someone pass some hints

By all mean, is there anyone who is doing the same in Italy? what SIM provider?

Cheers

do you mean doing a destination NAT, a port forward of 80 and 443? Meaning, you have a web server in your LAN that you want to be available from Internet?

If that is the case: https://wiki.ipfire.org/configuration/firewall/rules/port-forwarding

In synthesis:

Source; standard networks: RED
NAT activated → destination NAT; firewall interface:automatic
Destination address (IP address or network): IP of your server
Protocol preset, Service Group: web (this opens both 80/443)
or
Services: either HTTP or HTTPS (this opens either one or the other port)
the rest should be obvious, but ask if it is not.

1 Like

Hi @gipsea

A Port Forward rule will allow you to open up a port to whatever destination you want to use.
https://wiki.ipfire.org/configuration/firewall/rules/port-forwarding

1 Like

Thanks for such prompt help.

I realized I missed some extra info.

At the moment I’m testing ipfire box with LTE modem and I need to test if the ISP block some ports

For this reason the only thing I can try at the moment is reaching the ipfire machine with DDNS from a different machine online, in other terms how I see it allow INPUT to WAN connections. For this option I should not need port forward (I think).

As soon as I will be able to test one port I can change fw rule for all ports I need

Bottom line of this thread is: