NUT, set iPfire "on hold", then automatic reboot and/or boot after power failure

Hi!

As I am a noob about UPS stuff, I may now come with silly questions. So take a deep breath :slightly_smiling_face:

Background
On my Qnap NAS the manual tells I have two options for what happens when the UPS tells the NAS that there is a power failure:

1. Power off: If the NAS is powered off, it will remain off after the power is on again.

2. Auto-protection mode: If the NAS is in auto-protection mode, all normal service’s gets disabled and it stops writing to the disc, then it will resume to normal operation after the power is on again.

Auto-protection mode

• a) If it has not yet been powered off, the UPS batteries have not run out of charge, the system automatically resumes to its previous state (or reboots, it seem to be different depending on the Qnap model). On my both NAS in the GUI it say “*Auto-protection: the NAS will stop all running services and unmount all volumes to protect your data. When the power restores, the NAS will reboot and resume to its previous state.”

• b) If the UPS batteries run out of charge and cuts power to the NAS, the BIOS setting (or system settings) automatically resumes the system to its previous state, eg. it boots up again, when power is restored (if BIOS is set up to resume previous state, eg. turned on, in this case).

I was thinking I would use the NAS as the Primary (connected with USB to the UPS) and my main and backup iPfires as secondaries that get info from the NAS.

Problem
When i read the Wiki * Network UPS Tools (NUT)

• Detailed NUT Configuration I believe there is in upsmon.conf the setting SHUTDOWNCMD “/sbin/shutdown -h +0” that the wiki say “this command will be triggered if UPS sends the BL (Battery Low) flag.” and as I understand it will shutdown the system and turn it off.