Number of DNS issues and frustration

First off, thanks much for ipfire. I’ve been using ipfire for a couple of years now and I’d been helpful – but I still feel basically like a newbie. I’ve spent some time on the wiki and been patient with the UI but a couple of things still aren’t working right. I’m running IPFire 2.25 (x86_64) - Core Update 152.

• The DNS proxy does not seem to work with my verizon DNS servers. Google’s 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4 sort of work (see next bullet), but if I check off the “Use ISP-assigned DNS servers” then no names resolve. I can do a dig @71.243.0.12 google.com when I’ve logged into my ipfire router via ssh but the forwards don’t work. I’ve tried UDP and TCP and I don’t have any firewall rules that should stop it.
  • When I click on check DNS servers it says “broken” which I guess is the issue. If there is some sanity check issue with the servers, is there some way that the UI can show that they are somehow not worthy? Maybe a checkbox that says “yeah use them anyway”?
  • Even with Google’s 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4 configured into the name server list, I can’t resolve (for example community.ipfire.org. Other domains seem to work fine but some smallish subset doesn’t. Again, a dig @8.8.8.8 of those domains from the server works fine.
  • When I load the /cgi-bin/dns.cgi URL on my server, it takes good ~7 seconds to render. My network and the router are not loaded. Is it trying to mine some bitcoin or something?

Thanks much for any help,
gray

Not sure I can help.
Could you post your Domain name system setup.
I see post similar to this now and then.
Have you tried DNS over TCP.
I have Verizon and and their router DMZ blocks DOT!

1 Like

Hi Gray and welcome to the IPFire Community!

For the short term, please go to the Intrusion Prevention System (menu Firewall > Intrusion Prevention System) and make sure it is set to STOPPED. It can be enable/started when we get things working.