No ethernet with red

Hi, there!

So, I’m a newbie to IPFire here. It’s an amazing software so far. But for any reason my LAN-network doesn’t have any ethernet possible. So, like … I can ping any ip with no problem but my ethernet port/windows setting say, “Yeah … Sorry, you don’t get internet connection.”. Why?

Check here first.

2 Likes

Do I gotta enter the red ip extra? Or what do you mean? @hvacguy

You need to enter some DNS servers here.
then check that they work with the button on the page.
should show working.
there is a link to a list of DNS on the link above.

1 Like

Ok, cool. Thx already ^^ @hvacguy

@hvacguy There is another problem I got: It’s saying ‘defect’:

And I also have following problem, too:

I think it’s because of the missing ethernet connection @hvacguy

What connection do you have with your ISP. Is it a DHCP, Static, PPPOE, VDSL or what type of connection?

1 Like

I’ve fixed it all so far that it’s able to recognize the network - as a network. But I need to fix that it has a connection to the WAN in general. The settings are static.

The Static connection mode is the most simple one.

Did you get the following three bits of information from your ISP?

• The IP address
  • The network mask
  • The gateway address

If those three bits of information are correct and have been entered when you configured thge Static connection then if the internet connection is not working then you need to discuss with your ISP.

See the following wiki page for where the three bits of information should go.

https://www.ipfire.org/docs/installation/red/static

1 Like

Yeah, I did. There I used ipconfig /all on my computer where I put the lan end in to find it out.

If you run

ping -c4 81.3.27.38

from the IPFire console what response do you get?

You should get something similar to

PING 81.3.27.38 (81.3.27.38) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from 81.3.27.38: icmp_seq=1 ttl=57 time=25.2 ms
64 bytes from 81.3.27.38: icmp_seq=2 ttl=57 time=24.7 ms