Need to know if I can set it up while existing network is still operational

Hi. New here. I’m trying to get my act together firewall-wise before I get seriously hacked.

I am not a newbie, but I am not an expert. Tech, yes; networking, not so much.

I want to have the existing network still functioning while I try to get everything set up. I have not been successful in getting to the web app even after switching my nic to the 10.0.10.x network.

I may have read something about the switch having to be programmed to direct the traffic correctly. Not sure. I’m not even sure I would know how, even though I have access to the web console of the 2824.

I have attached a basic diagram of how things currently are. The dotted lines would be future. After setup is complete.

Edit: Don’t know if it’s relevant or not but the Plex server is Unraid, so it has lots of traffic.

Why 10gbE as red?

IPFire
Did you set up your nic card in setup program?

Red to existing switch.
Green to other network switch with PC
Lof in to WUI
Https://(Ipfire’s ip):444
Setup Domain name system
Make sure status is working

Hi @dbinott

Welcome to the IPFire community.

You are not going to be able to do what you want wired in that format.

You have your IPFire red connection getting its IP via dhcp from the ISP router via the 2.5GbE switch.
This means that your IPFire red IP will be in the 10.0.0.0/255.255.255.0 subnet.

You have setup your green connection, if I understand it correctly, with a subnet of 10.0.10.0/255.255.255.0 with the green interface on 10.0.10.1

That green connection is then connected also to the 2.5GbE switch. All your PC’s etc on your existing network will be on 10.0.0.0/255.255.255.0 subnet addresses. None of them will be able to connect to the IPFire green interface as it is on a different subnet.