Lots of DROP_CTINVALID and DROP_CTNEWNOTSYN

Hi there, new user of IPFire; loving it so far.

I have a Red/Orange/Blue network running on an Intel N100 3.6GHz with four NICs and 8GB RAM and IPFire 229 update 185. It works quite well, with a low load average (usually 0.0) and lots of memory free. Traffic volume is pretty low, typically under 1mbps. Network is 1gbps and internet service is 1gpbs, with 1gbps down and 40mbps up.

I’m noticing a lot of DROP_CTINVALID and DROP_CTNEWNOTSYN in the logs and I’m trying to understand why. Internally, they appear on both the orange and blue networks, whether communicating with internal hosts (like the firewall) or external ones.

This is a linux machine in the orange network, which receives inbound traffic on 32443 from haproxy running on the IPFire host. It also makes outbound traffic on port 443.

I’m a bit new to this, and so I looked into MTU issues, but some machines use Path MTU Discovery, and for internal network this wouldn’t apply since they all have an MTU of 1500 on their NICs. For those reasons I’m doubtful it’s an MTU problem.

But now I’m stumped. I didn’t expect to see these packets dropped, and I cannot understand why they’d be appearing on the LAN/WLAN side so often. Any ideas why netfilter is dropping these packets? I struggle to believe that there’s a problem with the TCP.

It’s worth noting that I’m using a stock /etc/sysctl.conf file. I’m digging into conntrack and the various TCP settings to see if there’s some known issue; so far nothing has turned up.

One slight possibility is some kind of issue with tcp_fastopen, but I’m doubtful.

Also, there’s no mention of conntrack in /var/log/messages, or anything else unusual that I can see.

Still digging. I found this article which says, in essence, “there’s a windows bug that causes this to happen sometimes,” except these hosts aren’t running Windows.