Is my configuration correct?

Hello,
I’m relatively new to networking in general but also to IPFire itself.
I’ve read a fair amount but still some things are unclear to me.

I’d appreciate if you could tell me if my configuration is correct and answer some of my questions.
Thank you in advance. <3 No advanced stuff but I want to have a secure basic configuration before I “play around” with other stuff.

FRITZ!Box —> IPFire
should I set the IPFire as an exposed host of the FRITZ!Box?
So I wouldn’t have 2x NAT, right?

I have configured some NTP servers in the FRITZBox, and set the IPFire’s NTP server to the FRITZ!Box IP-Adress. And in the DHCP settings I’ve set the IP of IPFire for NTP.
That means: NTP-Server --> FRITZ!Box --> IPFire --> Client
Does this make sense or should I exclude the FRITZ!Box in this chain?

In the firewall settings, should I enable or disable NTP for GREEN/ORANGE/BLUE?
Do I have to change this setting if I set the IPFire as exposed host, or not?

Somewhere I’ve read that I should NOT use “.local” as domain for the IPFire. Is that correct? Because that’s exactly what I did…

“Application-Layer-Gateways”
As far as I understand it opens needed ports temporary for a session?
But what I don’t understand is, what of these protocols do I need in day-to-day use?
The only one I know is FTP.

I guess these were all questions I have right now.
Hope you can make things a bit more clear for me.
Thank you!

That what you mean is putting the FritzBox into Bridged Mode so it works like any modem only. If you do so, that won’t be possible anymore:

except you exclude the FitzBox of this chain.

That means that all ports are opened for the device already.

It’s the same to me, but my firewall works fine with other domain controllers in the network so I don’t think it will cause any problems.

Hello,

If you don’t want to VPN to IPFire, it’s ok without exposed host. Even with 2 x NAT.