IPFire on Raspberry Pi 4B - Observations and Questions

Hello community,

I stumbled upon the IPFire-Project on the kuketz-blog a couple of weeks ago and have been on fire ever since (pun intended :smiley:). Although I have some experience with networks (CCNA Routing & Switching), Iā€™m far away from being an expert and my knowledge regarding firewalls is little. So please bear with me here. =)

Anyway, I was very excited about the project and wanted to get to know IPFire on a small basis in my home environment and so I bought a Raspberry Pi 4 (8GB) and followed the instructions on the website. My board is from 2018, so Iā€™m not affected by the problem with/without the firmware EEPROM. Installation was totally simple and everything works. However, I made some obervations and came across some problems, I wanted to share with you. Maybe it could help other people, too.

First of all, my setup:

Network

(attached to a USB3-Port of the Pi is a Delock-USB-to-LAN-Adapter capable of Gigabit-speed, correctly identified and supported by IPFire due to its Realtek 8153 Chipset).

Please! Please! Please! No judgement about the logic of the structure! Originally I wanted to use the Pi as an AP too but the internal WiFi-chipset is just to weak and is only capable of about 50mbit/s max when acting as an AP (even with 802.11ac activated and not only HT-Caps, but also VHT-Caps ā€œregisteredā€). I still got a AlfaNetwork AWUS1900, but hence that Iā€™m not a linux ā€œproā€, I hesitate trying to implement the driver by compiling IPFire new or building an AddOn or whatever you have to do :crazy_face:.
Apart from that, Laptop and Smartphone are protected on client-site and the MFP and the NAS are only occasionally running and have no internet-acces (blocked by the FritzBox). So the fact, that only the Desktop-PC is behind the firewall is ok with me, so please so judgement. =) Additionally IPFire serves as a DNS-Server (with some blockling lists) for all the devices.