IPFire on ProtectLi Vault 4-Port

Just thought I’d leave a note for future users. I’ve been using ProtectLi’s FW10408 at home for about 7 months now. It’s a modest (Intel Quad Core, 4GB RAM, 8GB mSATA SSD), easy-to-use small appliance that works well for me. I have more than 30 wired and wireless clients connected including a torrent and Plex server. I use many of IPFire’s built-in and addon features and never had it overload. Idle CPU averages above 90% and free memory averages around 40%. The update accelerator filled up the disk once, but adjusting the cache size fixed that problem. Would recommend for an average or avid home user.

you must be kidding :rofl:

Do you have a real criticism, or are you just trying to be cool?

I’m not trying, but I’am. Chinese cheap Mini-PCs have been here a great topic quite often. No EFI/BIOS update support and unknown firmwares. A great idea to use hw like this for firewall applications :rofl:.

I have read some of the historical comments, and even though not everyone agrees with you, I can see that this is a subject about which you feel strongly. Rather than debate it again, I will just let people search for themselves and make their own decisions. Thanks for the feedback.

P.S. ProtectLi does support UEFI and allows for BIOS updates. Last updates were posted in Fall 2019. Spectre and Meltdown fixes were posted in 2018. Last textual update to their BIOS page was Feb 18, 2020.

I can’t find any download resources on their website. Also the CPU is old and slow, there is no AES-NI and it can’t handle large bandwidths with many connections and services. DDR3 is also old and mSATA outdated.

From what I read, you don’t mind old and slow as long as it works. For a home deployment, it’s just fine. Thanks again for the feedback.

P.S. For anyone truly interested in looking for them, here’s the link to ProtectLi’s BIOS updates.

@eggman