Intrusion Prevention System - How to?

Hi Devs,

I have to admit I do not know much about the IPS but I think it is a very good and powerful thing.

First of all I want to mention this post which is a bit old but I think it is still valid.

However, I am a home user and regardless of being interested I am not a firewall expert.
So I did what should not be done I activated a few rules and think this is enough.

First Part: Setup

I simply cannot check every rule there is if it is useful or not. For example:

1. Read the rule:
    ET ACTIVEX Symantec BackupExec Calendar Control (PVCalendar.ocx) BoF Vulnerability
  2. Interpret:
    It is from the ActiceX panel so it is something with activex for sure.
    Ok it has something to do with Symantec and Calender.
    I think I do not have Symantec on my systems but not sure.
  3. Result:
    Not Activate it.

Is this the proper way evaluating every rule?
The first example was an easy one but what about this one:
ET ACTIVEX EvansFTP EvansFTP.ocx Remote Buffer Overflow
I simply have no idea if it is a threat for me. FTP ok? but EvansFTP?
I could google it but I honestly do not invest that amount of time.
Never the less I would have to do that for every rule I am uncertain.
So, still activating a few rules and thinking it might be correct

Second Part: Maintenance

An example:

1. Something does not work:
    That is ok. This is not a company so nobody will yell at me for not being able doing stuff.
    And all other persons yeah I do not mind.
    When I have time a look around.
  2. Investigating:
    And there IPS has blocked it. Yeah, it really works!
    It is the rule: ET GAMES Blizzard Web Downloader Install Detected
    So I look into games and find it there. I would be easier to show all rules and just search for it via browser search but its ok. I can live with it.
  3. Deactivating: