Installing wireguard on IPFire?

Hi,

I learnt that Wireguard is not (yet) officially supported on IPFire. But I have been using it on my other systems and I will need it if I want to continue trying out IPFire.

I tried to understand how the OS works, but it seems to be quite non-standard (I am not an expert with Linux) that the pakfire package manager does not include tools like git and gcc; I don’t even know how to start compiling wireguard in this case.

Could you provide any instructions on doing so?

Hi sandbo and welcome to IPFire,
you can find git and make in the Pakfire resources as addons, gcc is available in the toolchains for the development environment. In here --> https://wiki.ipfire.org/devel you can find the references.

If you want to build and implement Wireguard by yourself on IPFire, keep in mind that the kernel moduls are signed while compilation and can not easily be integrated, a discussion about that are findable e.g. in here --> How can i use self compiled kernel module .

According to Wireguard, this article --> https://blog.ipfire.org/post/why-not-wireguard from Michael can give you an overview of a potential future handling of Wireguard on IPFire. The community platform offers also threads for this topic, just checkout the search in here.

Some infos from here.

Best,

Erik

2 Likes

Thanks a lot Erik, I really appreciate your detailed reply.

At the moment I am rebuilding my workstation, and I am using a virtual router to centralize the network connection among the VMs. I have been using ClearOS ( a CentOS based router distro ) but I have mixed experience with it so far, so I am really looking forward to trying IPFire as another Linux router distro.