Install IPFire on a USB stick

I have been running IPFire for many years on a old DELL Optiplex 745 with a core2duo.
It is using about 85-90 watts of energy. So it is a bit expensive to run.
So i have an old motherboard from a laptop that i will use.
It is an upgrade as well it use less energy.
But i dont have an SSD for it yet. The motherboard have no USB3 ports.
I have an 8GB USB stick that i thinking on to use untill i get an SSD.
How slow will it be if i install it on a USB stick. Is it something that will effect the speed of my connection such lower speeds or higher ping?
Or is it just when i do changes and configs on the router that will be slow?

For the second network card i removed the WI-FI card and bought a mini PCI-E ethernet card (1gbit/s). And i will make my own case for it that i can mount in a rack.
There are empty cases i can screw in to a rack that i can buy.

I run for testing purpose IPFire on PCEngines machine using a 2.5 inches hard drives connected to the usb3.0 port with a SATA-USB adapter and I did not see any problem in term of speed and performance. I would not use the proxy though, unless you specify to only use the ram, otherwise your usb stick will die earlier. I never tried to use a USB 2 though.

In general, consider the firewall as you lock. Would you use a 50 euros lock to protect you 10,000 bike?

1 Like

The USB stick is just a temporary solution until i can get my hands on an SSD.
I dont know if i want to buy a brand new SSD or if i should go with a used SSD.
The pros with a new SSD is good performance and warranty for 3 years minimum (stated by Swedish law).
The Pros with a used SSD is that they are cheaper and i can choose a small size (like 32gb - 64gb). Even the SSD:s from a good manufacturer like samsung and intel could be cheap.