How To Fix Proxy Interfering With Various Services

I am pretty new to setting up a firewall. I have been using Untangle for the last two years for my home network, and am attempting to make the switch to IPFire. I have four children, and one of the main purposes of setting up a firewall is to control their Internet usage. My two main concerns are limiting the times of day they’re on and URL filtering. We have had problems with both in the past.

I have the time limits thing figured out, and I have the URL filtering somewhat functional but I keep running into trouble with various programs not working. Browsing the Internet is fine, but my kids can’t connect to their email while using the proxy. My shared folder isn’t accessible to them anymore. They can’t play Bloons6TD co-op anymore (which is the biggest complaint on their end).

I was able to get Spotify working by opening port 4070 in the firewall. Similarly, opening 5222 and 5269 allows access to XMPP. However, when the email and file sharing weren’t going through opening ports 993, 465, and 2049 didn’t do anything to help.

The game is another can of worms. When I go onto their tech support page it says to allow access to a couple of URLs. I don’t know how to do that within the firewall. Do I do this through the URL Filter page? That didn’t seem to work. I also tried looking up the IP addresses that those URLs resolved to and adding those to the firewall rules with no noticeable improvement.

I understand that these questions are probably covered somewhere, but I looked through the Wiki and did a search here and didn’t find them. Please be patient. I’m not a network guru, just a dad with kids that is trying his best to protect them.

I should add that we’re all using Fedora, and I’m setting their proxy settings to use the IPFire proxy for http and https. When I disable the proxy on their machines all of these things start working again.