Configure wifi (red - client) 88XXau

Hi,

Wifi USB seems to be recognised without problems, “iw list” gives back nice info and “iwlist red0 scan” returns the right SSIDs.
This seems to be working ok right? (Im not a wifi expert, all my linux life is on eth…)

Bus 001 Device 002: ID 2357:0120 TP-Link Archer T2U PLUS [RTL8821AU]

But I cant find a way to configure it via the interface as the Docs describe.
How do you configure the wifi intereface as a client (and being the RED zone of course?!?!

Thanks

Hi @daemonix

Welcome to the IPFire community.

The https://wiki.ipfire.org/configuration/system/wlanclient wiki link says

You will see the menu option only, if the system found a wireless adapter that is supported by the wireless stack. A list of all working wireless adapters can be found on our networking hardware compatibility list.

If you are not seeing the wui page for the red wireless client then did you configure the wireless network usb stick after the first reboot. The networking hardware compatibility list says that these wireless cards are usually not shown during the installation but can be configured afterwards. The start of the page of this link also gives guidance on finding information that the adaptor has been properly recognised per IPFire requirements.

Did you find the RTL88XXAU adaptor in the networking hardware compatibility list? When I had a look I could not find anything for RTL88 series in the list.

Hi,

Yes I inserted the USB after the first boot. I can easily start over with the USB attached but I dont think this wifi card is on the support list for the GUI.

It is though supported quite nicely on OS level is seems. (Which is usually hard on other linux ditros).

How do I configure the red/wifi from terminal? /var/ipfire/* ?? Is the a more “hardcore” guide?

Thanks

EDIT: maybe I can add my device id or something and see if it works?