Any easier step by step installation path?

Hi, this is my first post and I am even less than a beginner to ipFire - I am a beginner to pretty much everything baseline to even beginning to set up any sort of router or firewall. By that I mean that other people set up my internet connections previously. So at one connection I have a Comcast internet accessible from a wireless router to other remote wifi networks on various boxes. At home I have an AT&T business class internet, where all I did was plug in one of their router+wireless boxes to cabling they hooked up (or maybe they even hooked it up…I don’t remember as it has been more than a decade).

Anyway, I want to explore and learn and use ipFire. I did take time to read reviews on my various options and I am pretty clear ipFire is the way I want to go because: (1) it is linux based (and I am also working to switch to linux in general and out of Win7) (2) open source (3) it has great recent reviews for active maintenance (4) lots of add on packages (and I hate to dedicate a full computer to something which is ONLY acting as a firewall) and appears to be up and coming (5) looks a lot more user friendly than, say, openWRT or pfSense, to a complete newbie.

There are probably some other good reasons I want to take my first steps with ipFire as well … oh, yeah, you appear to have a really helpful community – which I can definitely appreciate right about now!

I have gone as far as installing ipfire on a Dell Optiplex 9020 and trying to follow the directions. The problem is my ignorance is so complete that even the step-by-step instructions very quickly, for me, devolve into ignorantly picking a response (when I really don’t know enough to intelligently pick a response) or typing in a number (ip adress) when I don’t have a number and don’t know really how to get one. For what it is worth, I have recently purchased a copy of “TCP/IP for Dummies, 6th ed” but haven’t yet attempted to read it.