Alta Fiber Odd behavior Red Network DHCP

I just switched from Spectrum to AltaFiber (formerly Cincinnati bell) to take advantage of Fiber. I’ve been using IPFire for at least eight years and have had challenges ever since I switched to Fiber.

In a nutshell, IPFire ‘appears’ to connect successfully, but none of the devices on my network are able to browse the internet (GREEN is the only other network configured) UNTIL the Hostname listed in RED is the upstream hostname, not the IPFire hostname.

Here’s what I have observed:

IPFire reboot
Attempt connect to Red interface
DHCP starts
IP provisioned to Red interface
Hostname listed is IPFIRE (default hostname)
No bueno browsing on green.

I’m able to connect directly to the fibre modem and browse (observed a provisioned IP address, etc.).

When I am able to connect to the internet, it appears IPFire updates the default hostname with the upstream one.

What can I do to force this update? I’ve tried rebooting the fiber modem, then IPFire and the reverse order. I’ve waited hours (thinking this is a timing/request item). I’ve changed the RED interface from DHCP to static.

Any suggestions are appreciated.

Thank you in advance.

Have you checked your
DNS ?
Domain Name system
What is its status?

Thanks Shaun HVAC -

Here’s what it ‘should’ be: dsl-208-102-178-197.fuse.net. That is, when the hostname on the RED network is something like this (with the X.fuse.net) traffic flows properly

When it reads IPFIRE as the host name on the RED network, traffic does NOT flow.

Is that helpful?

It might be that your ISP has configured its dhcp server in a non-rfc compliant manner.

In /var/ipfire/dhcpc/dhcpcd.conf there are the following lines

'# A hook script is provided to lookup the hostname if not set by the DHCP
'# server, but it should not be run by default.
nohook lookup-hostname

The comment lines start with ’ as otherwise the forum code treats the # as meaning that the following line should be enlarged and bold.