Access NAS behind IPFIRE

Hello.
I am new to firewall’s. And IPFIRE got my interest.
My network topology currently is:
Fritzbox 6890 — (LanPort1) IPfire---- switch—NAS, SERVER

F!b ip address(192.168.200.1)
IPfire(192.168.100.1) — NAS, SERVER (192.168.100.x)

at F!B lan port 2:
F!B 6890 ---- (Lanport2) Switch---- 2pc, 3 laptops (192.168.200.x)

Behind the ipfire, I can ping any device in x.x.200.x and also can surf the internet. no problem at all. But I want the 2 laptop from 192.168.200.x to access the NAS(192.168.100.10).
Im totally new to this.
Thank you in advance…

So the 2pc and 3 laptops are NOT protected by the firewall. I suggest adding a 8 port switch after the firewall and the 2pc, 3 laptops, and NAS can be on the .100 subnet. Then, ALL devices with be protected by the firewall plus they can access each other since they belong to the same .100 subnet. Something like:

Internet – Fritz (.200.1) – ipfire (.100.1) – switch – 2pc, 3laptop, NAS

2 Likes

Your PCs and laptops are part of the red network of IPFire, the WAN.
No surprise, they can’t access the green network easily.

1 Like

Two premises:

• your IPFire firewall has one input (the red zone), and several outputs (all the machines connected to the switch behind it);

• IPFire needs to know where to send the packages.

If the traffic is coming from the inner side of the firewall (machines on the switch, the green network 192.168.100.X) going out, it keeps track of the outgoing traffic and therefore it knows automatically where to send the returning packets coming from the red zone as a response.