WLAN Client on green?

Hello,

after long searches which system to use for my openvpn/reverse proxy gateway I finally decided to install ipfire on my raspberry pi 4b. It is a very fine piece of software and I really like its possibilites! So, I am a newbie to ipfire…

I flashed a 64GB SSD HD with raspberry imager on Windows 7 and used the aarch64 img.xz file, which created three partitions - is that right?

Booting the machine worked like a charm on my geekworm nas case (Geekworm NASPi V2.0 2.5" SATA HDD/SSD Kit with Auto Power On Function). To improve the wifi signal I installed the acrylic front shield rather than the aluminum one.

Internet connection (red) is up and running with my static IP address from Vodafone (onboard eth). The connection to a DMZ (orange) is implemented with an USB to eth adapter (external power supply mandatory). To reach the web interface of ipfire I want to use my integrated wifi adapter as my green connection. My router is a FritzBox Cable 6591. How do I get the wifi card up and running and recognized by my FritzBox using the console? As I understand hostapd is not meant to configure a wifi client at all.

Which package do I need to install for that purpose?

Thank you so much for your appreciated answers!

Ok, I was able to start wifi with wpa_supplicant, which is available already, and network green0. But how do I save a conf-file on /etc/wpa_supplicant? I tried to install mc, but failed due to the following problem:

The system does not change back to the console, instead I get the message “RRM: Ignoring radio measurement request: Not RRM network”, the commands “q” and “exit” do not work. Yet I am able to connect with my ipfire device via web interface from another machine in the same network…

Do you have any suggestions?

Thank you so much!

Sorry, me again - for all people who are newbies with wifi on Linux as me…

Open a second console with ctrl - alt - F2, install mc or just work with bash commands,

mkdir /etc/wpa_supplicant/