Wanting to set up IPFire

Hey. So I want to set up IPFire in my home network. I’m new to IPFire so please correct any misunderstandings I might have. I’m studying IT Security and IPFire was briefly mentioned by an instructor which piqued my interest.

So my thought is to set up IPFire on my Raspberry Pi 4b. Just need to get an USB-Ethernet dongle and a switch. My thought is to use it as my router instead of the crappy Asus one I have currently. I don’t know if a raspberry pi can make a wifi access point for my wireless devices, but it isn’t something I really care about currently, worst case I can get a cheap WiFi AP to connect to my Switch.

I’m not worried about my traffic overloading the Raspberry, I only use my desktop PC and my phone on WiFi and don’t really do anything that goes hard on my bandwidth. I am curious about the IPS though. I want to use the IPS part of IPFire but as that seems like it could be quite resource heavy, I am unsure how it would work on a raspberry. I checked the Wiki for it but didn’t really find anything out that would apply in my situation, but that might just be my poor research skills. Also wondering if there’s any sort of community rules for it so I won’t have to set all that up manually. I know Snort is available with community rules, but that’s just an IDS when I want an IPS.

If i don’t completely misremember, there’s also a built in firewall in IPFire. How good is it, roughly?

Thanks in advance.

Hello Martin,

:+1:

Yes, IPFire will definitely perform better than an ASUS router.

I have never touched the fourth version of the RPis, but they are generally all not the most ideal choice of hardware. They are a little bit slow and networking over USB is not a lot of fun. However, they are good enough to make your start…

This requires a lot of CPU power. The RPi 4 might be good enough for a single user, but you can simply benchmark this and check the CPU load with something like “htop”.