Open VPN -> no internet access

Hello,

i configured my openVPN as described in your manual and I am able to connect with my iPhone and the OpenVPN app to my network. But I am not able to reach any websites because all my VPN traffic is instanly blocked.

21:40:03 DROP_FORWARD tun1 UDP 18.0.0.2 8.8.8.8 64327 53(DOMAIN)

Do I need some additional firewall routes to get that working?

Best
gaerbsch

Sorry I’m not a VPN expert but as a guess: Is there a firewall rule related to DNS (port 53)?

Thx for your answer. That was also my first guess but when i turn my firewall (Default firewall behaviour) into “FORWARD -> Allowed” mode every traffic outgoing should be allowed. That worked for every network (green, blue) but not for my VPN. I think i need a rule for my tun1 (VPN) interface. But i cant find the interface in my firewall rules.

Are you looking for the menu Firewall > Firewall Rules? Or something else?

You should not need any special rule for OpenVPN. I don’t have any rules for OpenVPN and all works A-OK. FYI - I am set to “FORWARD → Allowed” also.

Ok so if you configure OpenVPN every connected client is able to connect to the internet through the firewall? I have the option “redirect-gateway” enabled because all my traffic should go through the firewall. But in my case something is wrong because my firewall is blocking every connection from a connected client as you can see. Internet access is not possible with my connected iPhone. (OpenVPN APP)

21:40:03 DROP_FORWARD tun1 UDP 18.0.0.2 8.8.8.8 64327 53(DOMAIN)

As you can see the firewall is blocking the “tun1” interface. But in my Firewall rules i cant set a rule to allow the “tun1” interface because i cant find this interface in my rules. Maybe i have to edit the iptables manually.

any ideas? :slight_smile:

Yes. All works A-OK and I am sending this message via my iPhone using the IPFire OpenVPN.

I just set it up last night to make sure it works.

I have redirect gateway in also.