Mixed blue wlan-ap + wired lan

Many greetings to all :slight_smile:

I have been using ipfire for many years, before that the ipcop with the add-on wlan-ap.
Everything is perfekt!

I need better coverage for the WiFi and bought a repeater.
Unfortunately, the throughput is poor.
Can I operate the blue network with wifi-ap AND a wired connection to the repeater?
Can I solve this using the zones?
Can I assign more than one assignment (wlan0 + eth0)?

Thank you for your feedback and the effort

IPFire 2.25 (i586) - Core Update 146

I am not sure I understand your question. I think you are looking for a way to create a zone with two interfaces bridged together. In that case, https://wiki.ipfire.org/configuration/network/zoneconf

Hi cfusco,

I’m looking for a way to offer a zone (blue - 192.168.2.0/24) both on the wlan-ap-interface wlan0 and at the same time on an AP that is connected to the interface eth0.

Yes, i think that is a bridge between wlan0 and eth0 for the blue zone .

it is correctly to set the zone blue “native” for wlan0 and eth0 in the zone configuration ?

best regards
gerhard

I never did it with the web interface but using scripts. I think what you are proposing, “native” settings for the two interfaces is correct, but for the network “blue” I believe you have to select “bridge”, not “normal”. What I am not sure is if the web interface will make the correct modifications to the networking scripts and create a bridge for you or if you have to do it manually. In case, I can post a script as I did it few years back for a friend.

Edit: I based my scripts on this post of the old forum: https://forum.ipfire.org/viewtopic.php?t=11860

Hi cfusco,

yes I would be grateful if you could provide me with the script

best regards
Gerhard

after trying it out, I found out the following that I would like to share

Zoning saves the script /etc/init.d/bridge 

For the zone assignments BLUE = bridge
wlan0 = native