Firewall not blocking

Hi, My situation is… I have Ipfire as a perimeter firewall with whole lan vpn, qemu truenas and nextcloud. I try to block the NAS and Nextcloud from internet, to make it only accessible via lan or vpn, but it doesn’t work. The lan vpn is via 10.8.0.0/16. I’ve tried to block that ip range, and blocking all red, but Truenas and Nextcloud still are internet accessible. I’m at a loss. No firewall rules seem to affect.

1 Like

What firewall rules did you setup?
You could post a screenshot.

I am not an expert but I had some issues in the past so maybe I can help. :slight_smile:

1 Like

Hi,

also, a brief description or even a simple diagram of your network would help us to understand your issue.

In particular, I did not yet understood the “VPN” part in “I have Ipfire as a perimeter firewall with whole lan vpn”. Does that mean IPFire serves as a VPN server? Or is the LAN part of a VPN?

Thanks, and best regards,
Pete Müller

Hi, thanks for the interest. I have red input from cable modem to pc running ipfire with a qemu kvm virtual machine Truenas with a Nextcloud jail. (sounds like a mess already right:). So, the lan is on 172.x.x.x, but all the internet traffic is routed through openvpn on a 10.8.x.x to NordVPN. Truenas is 172.x.x.25 and Nextcloud 172.x.x.50. I want LAN only access, so I’m trying to block those two from red. The firewall rules I have tried are: the ip’s to red, the ip’s to 10.8.x.x, the ip’s to and from red firewall.
Peter, the IPFire is a VPN client that provides VPN internet to the green LAN.

Hi,

thanks for your reply.

(sigh) A mess indeed, but I guess there is no sense in arguing about this…

Well, that sounds like a simple firewall rule to me indeed.

Please post a screenshot of them. It is a bit tricky to understand the rules based on your description.

Peter Müller

Thanks Peter! I’m not exactly sure what screenshot you are requesting.
That screenshot was of rules that I have enabled/disabled in my troubleshooting.